There are many different ways that people relax or relieve stress in Louisiana. Some may exercise, others may take time off from work, others drink alcohol, some use marijuana and others use other methods. Some people also use marijuana for other reasons as well. However, whether people use it every day or use it occasionally for recreational purposes, it is still illegal to possess it at this time. This means that people who are caught with it could face significant penalties for marijuana possession.
The severity of the penalties are generally based on the amount people possess at the time they are caught. For first time offenses, people who have 14 grams or less could be sentenced up to 15 days in jail and could be fined up to $300. If people have between 14 grams and 2.5 pounds they could go to jail for up to six months and be fined up to $500.
Between 2.5 and 60 pounds could result in a jail sentence between 2–10 years in jail and be fined a minimum of $10,000. If the amount is between 60–2,000 pounds people could go to jail for a minimum of five years and be fined a minimum of $50,000. The penalties increase from that point as well if people possess over 2,000 pounds.
These penalties are very severe, but people will only face them if they are convicted. Initially people are just charged with the offense and cannot be convicted until it is proven beyond a reasonable doubt that the person is guilty. There are potential defenses as well. The potential defenses start with whether the stop and search of the person was legal. If either was illegal any evidence of marijuana obtained after that could be suppressed.
Many people in Louisiana use marijuana. While it is common it is still illegal unless people have a valid prescription for it. People could be sent to jail and pay significant fines, if convicted, but people may be able to avoid these consequences with a good defense. Experienced attorneys understand these defenses and may be a useful resource.